Chamber of the Ages

As I sat reading the newspaper,  my grandchildren played their video games at a Thanksgiving gathering,  this song started to play.  My attention was drawn away from  reading, and onto the TV screen where the children’s game play had taken a short hiatus.  I had not heard the song in over 40 years, I had certainly never saw this “video” because when I came home from the “Conflict”, I wasn’t much of a TV watcher. The kids cheered as the planes dropped bombs on the beautiful Vietnamese landscape.  My thoughts transported me back to Saigon in 1968. As they cheered, I was returned to being under those bombs that fell in the video. I was a black soldier drafted to go defend a country, that did not allow me to use the same facilities as white Americans. I was under the threat of prison if I failed to comply in…

View original post 392 more words

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

